With the cooperation of models contacted, we have been able to trace the scammer to an internet service provider in Nigeria. This information agrees with the general nature of the scam, and other details.
One victim has had additional contact with the scammer, and confirmed the purpose of the scam.
The scammer offers models $3500.00 for the photoshoot, and asks for name, address, and other personal information so that a check for 1200.00 can be mailed to the model, up front.
In later email messages, the scammer informs the model that the client will be sending the full $3500.00 to him/her immediately, and that he/she must deposit the check into their bank, and deduct their $1200.00 share of the up-front payment, and then wire the remaining $2300.00 to the “studio” via Western Union.
Again, DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES ACCEPT A CHECK FROM, OR PROVIDE PERSONAL INFORMATION TO THIS SCAMMER. If you receive a check from him, immediately take it to your local law enforcement.
Additionally, the scammer is expanding his reach into other modelling communities. So far, he has been seen on the following:
- http://www.modelmanagement.com
- http://www.modelallure.com
He has also been noted as using another local photographer’s website, as well as ours. We have notified that company of the situation.
Again, if you have any information regarding this scam, please contact us and your local law enforcement agency.



